Spring Time in Vancouver = Cherry Blossoms

Perfect view of the city of Vancouver

Perfect view of the city of Vancouver

Pardon my excitement over cherry blossoms, but I am, well….EXCITED!!

Growing up in the Caribbean, I was accustomed to sunny, year-round summers. I had experienced fall and winter in Toronto and of course, winter in Vancouver, but I had never experienced the beauty and renewal of spring. I moved to Vancouver in November, 2012. Yes! Right at the start of winter! And whilst the cold was actually milder than I expected, but I was not prepared for the very short days, incessant rain and continuously dark skies. So like everyone else, I waited longingly for the first signs of spring.

Snow capped mountains of Vancouver with beautiful cherry blossoms in the city

Snow capped mountains of Vancouver with beautiful cherry blossoms in the city

 

And right on cue, they came! The first shoots from the earth and the new buds on the trees signaled that spring was finally here. And then they bloomed, and bloomed, and bloomed. Palettes of every shade of pink imaginable dotted all over the cityscape. Cherry trees blossomed with puffy clouds of the most beautiful flowers I had ever seen. After those dark, gloomy days of winter, Vancouver is finally alive with colour!

Cherry Blossoms near Burrard Station

Cherry Blossoms form a canopy of colour near Burrard Station

 

 

 

Many of the city’s 37,000 trees actually originated as a gift from Japan. And every spring since 2005, the Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival has been held to bring the culturally-diverse Vancouverites together to enjoy the beauty of these trees.

 

 

But more than just heralding in spring, for me, the cherry blossoms are a sign of renewal, that even when times may seem cold, dark, rainy and gloomy, that the seasons will surely change, and new life, beauty and colour will be re-infused into everything.

Cherry blossoms cover Mr Shawarma Food Truck at Burrard Station

Cherry Blossoms cover Mr Shawarma Food Truck at Burrard Station

 

I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend to take in some of the Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival events and the spring time beauty of this truly wonderful city. Or maybe, I’ll just stand under the canopy of baby pink blooms at the Burrard Station whilst I enjoy the most delicious shawarma I’ve ever had from Mr. Sharwarma’s food truck. Bliss!

2 thoughts on “Spring Time in Vancouver = Cherry Blossoms

  1. Your blog is extremely interesting and shows you have done your researched. I practically like the design template you decided to use and enjoyed browsing the text in your web site. Keep up the great work, I want to check back in a few days. You did a great job.

Leave a Reply

